CANADA'S STORE Made for Life in Canada

Credit Offered* Learn More

HOW TO CHOOSE WINDSHIELD WIPER BLADES

Clear vision is crucial to safe driving, which is why it’s important to have efficient windshield wiper blades. Here’s a quick guide on how to pick the right ones for your car. You’ll also find tips on how to keep them in optimal condition for as long as possible.

Choose windshield wiper blades Choose windshield wiper blades

Conventional Wiper Blades

Conventional wiper blades are an economical option. They have durable metal frames and the design conforms to clear most of the windshield as they wipe. However, they can be prone to wind lift and ice build-up in the frame, affecting winter visibility.

Choose wind shield wipers v2-904x509-step1-01 Choose wind shield wipers v2-904x509-step1-01

Conventional Winter Wiper Blades

Conventional winter wiper blades have an added rubber “boot” covering the metal frame, which helps prevent some snow and ice build-up. However, they do not conform to the windshield as well as winter beam blades and they are not suitable for summer use.

Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step1-02 Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step1-02

Beam Blade Wipers

Beam wiper blades are relatively lightweight and feature an aerodynamic design, which reduces wind lift and resists the build-up of ice and snow. The frameless design provides lasting protection against streaking. Specialty winter beam blades are tested to withstand extreme winter conditions (down to -40 °C) and are built to perform in harsh weather.

Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step1-03 Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step1-03

Hybrid Wiper Blades

These blades combine elements from both conventional and beam blades. They have a sturdy metal frame with a sleek, aerodynamic cover made of hard plastic or soft rubber.

Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step1-04 Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step1-04

When to replace your wipers

You should check your wiper blades regularly for signs of wear, because they deteriorate over time from use and environmental factors. Even when deterioration isn’t clearly visible, wipers can develop common problems such as streaking, skipping, chattering and splitting.

Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step2 Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step2

Maintaining your wiper blades

Avoid common problems and extend the life of your wiper blades by following these simple steps:

Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step3 Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step3

NOTRE MAGASIN Fait pour la vie ici.

Crédit Offert* EN SAVOIR PLUS

Économisez sur les incontournables de l’été
y compris les vélos, les barbecues, les piscines, les trampolines, les meubles d’extérieur, etc.

COMMENT CHOISIR DES BALAIS D’ESSUIE-GLACE

Pour votre sécurité, vous devez voir clairement la route. C’est pourquoi il est important d’avoir des balais d’essuie-glace efficaces. Voici un guide pour vous aider à choisir ceux qui conviendront à votre véhicule. Vous trouverez aussi des conseils qui vous permettront de les conserver dans un état optimal.

Choose windshield wiper blades Choose windshield wiper blades

Balais d’essuie-glace conventionnels

Les balais d’essuie-glace conventionnels constituent le choix le plus économique. Ils sont dotés de cadres de métal durables et permettent d’essuyer une grande partie du pare-brise. Toutefois, ils peuvent avoir tendance à se soulever par le vent et les accumulations de glace, ce qui réduit votre visibilité en hiver.

Choose wind shield wipers v2-904x509-step1-01 Choose wind shield wipers v2-904x509-step1-01

Balais d’essuie-glace d’hiver

Le cadre de métal des balais d’essuie-glace d’hiver est recouvert de caoutchouc, ce qui permet de prévenir les accumulations de neige et de glace. Toutefois, ils n’épousent pas aussi bien le pare-brise que les balais d’essuie-glace d’hiver plats et ne conviennent pas à une utilisation en été.

Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step1-02 Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step1-02

Balais d’essuie-glace plats

Les balais d’essuie-glace plats sont relativement légers et aérodynamiques, ce qui les empêche de s’élever au vent et leur permet de résister à l’accumulation de neige et de glace. La conception sans cadre offre une protection durable contre les traînées. Les balais d’essuie-glace de spécialité sont testés pour résister aux conditions extrêmes de l’hiver (jusqu’à - 40 °C) et sont conçus pour performer par mauvais temps.

Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step1-03 Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step1-03

Balais d’essuie-glace hybrides

Ces balais combinent des éléments des balais conventionnels et des balais plats. Ils sont dotés d’un cadre de métal robuste et d’un mince revêtement aérodynamique fait de plastique dur et de caoutchouc souple.

Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step1-04 Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step1-04

Quand remplacer vos essuie-glace

Vous devriez vérifier régulièrement vos balais d’essuie-glace pour déceler des signes d’usure, car ils se détériorent avec l’utilisation, le temps et les facteurs environnementaux. Même lorsque la détérioration n’est pas clairement visible, les essuie-glace peuvent entraîner des problèmes courants, comme les traînées, les sautillements, les bruissements et les fendillements.

Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step2 Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step2

Entretien de vos balais d’essuie-glace

Évitez les problèmes et prolongez la durée de vie de vos balais d’essuie-glace en suivant ces simples étapes:

Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step3 Choose windshield wipersv2-904x509-step3