CANADA'S STORE Made for Life in Canada

Credit Offered* Learn More

Collect 25x Bonus CT Money®8
on BBQs, outdoor furniture and more until Aug 18. 8Conditions apply.

How to choose motor oil

We place high demand on our car engines, so protecting and caring for them is very important. Choosing the right type of motor oil for your vehicle is key.

Choose motor oil 1280x522-fwt Choose motor oil 1280x522-fwt

Consult your owner's manual

The owner’s manual for your vehicle will list the viscosity grade of the oil that your vehicle needs. To find oil that matches your vehicle’s grade, check the information in the centre of the circle on the label on the back of the oil container.

Choose motor oil 543x321_step1-01 Choose motor oil 543x321_step1-01

Synthetic oil

If you drive short distances often, find yourself regularly idling in traffic, or live in a climate where you sometimes drive in extreme temperatures, synthetic motor oil is a smart choice for you. This type of oil offers superior start up protection in cold temperatures, allows your engine to run longer between oil changes and provides better overall lubrication and wear protection than conventional oil.

Choose motor oil 543x321_step2-01 Choose motor oil 543x321_step2-01

High mileage oil

If your car has more than 120,000 km on the odometer, consider high mileage oil. Additives in high mileage oil are intended to help extend the life of older engines. They condition engine seals to reduce and prevent leaks, reduce oil burn-off and consumption, and improve combustion chamber sealing, to help restore engine compression.

Choose motor oil 543x321_step2-02 Choose motor oil 543x321_step2-02

Conventional oil

You might still use conventional oil if your car was produced with conventional oil, and you prefer to stick with the factory fill oil. The majority of the volume in conventional motor oil is base oil, which prevents the engine from overheating and lubricates its moving parts to protect them from friction related wear. Chemical additives are included to inhibit rust and corrosion, prevent build-up of engine sludge, and improve oil flow at low temperatures.

Consider transitioning to synthetic for superior engine protection.

Choose motor oil 543x321_step2-03 Choose motor oil 543x321_step2-03

NOTRE MAGASIN Fait pour la vie ici.

Crédit Offert* EN SAVOIR PLUS

OBTENEZ UNE PRIME DE 25X L’ARGENT CTMD8
sur les barbecues, les meubles d’extérieur et plus, jusqu’au 18 août. 8Des conditions s’appliquent..

Comment choisir une huile moteur

Il est important de bien protéger le moteur, car nous y imposons des demandes très élevées. Il est essentiel de choisir le bon type d’huile moteur pour votre véhicule.

Choose motor oil 1280x522-fwt Choose motor oil 1280x522-fwt

Consultez le manuel du propriétaire

Le manuel du propriétaire indique la viscosité de l’huile nécessaire pour votre véhicule. Pour trouver l’huile de viscosité appropriée, vérifiez les renseignements au centre du cercle sur l’étiquette apposée à l’arrière du contenant d’huile.

Choose motor oil 543x321_step1-01 Choose motor oil 543x321_step1-01

Huile synthétique

Si vous parcourez souvent de brèves distances, roulez au ralenti dans la circulation ou vivez en un endroit où les températures sont extrêmes, l’huile synthétique s’avère un choix judicieux. Cette huile offre une protection supérieure au démarrage par temps froid, permettant au moteur de tourner plus longtemps entre les vidanges d’huile tout en lubrifiant et protégeant mieux le moteur que l’huile classique.

Choose motor oil 543x321_step2-01 Choose motor oil 543x321_step2-01

Huile pour kilométrage élevé

Si votre véhicule a parcouru plus de 120 000 km, songez à l’huile pour kilométrage élevé. Cette huile comporte des additifs pour prolonger la durée des plus vieux moteurs. Elle traite les joints pour réduire et prévenir les fuites, diminuer la combustion de l’huile et améliorer l’étanchéité des joints de la chambre de combustion pour rétablir la compression du moteur.

Choose motor oil 543x321_step2-02 Choose motor oil 543x321_step2-02

Huile classique

Vous préférez peut-être toujours utiliser de l’huile classique si votre véhicule a été conçu à cette fin à l’origine. L’huile de base constitue la majorité du volume de l’huile moteur classique. Elle prévient la surchauffe du moteur et lubrifie les pièces mobiles pour les protéger contre l’usure causée par la friction. Des additifs chimiques préviennent la rouille, la corrosion et l’accumulation de dépôts de boue tout en améliorant le débit d’huile à basse température.

Songez à l’huile synthétique pour mieux protéger votre moteur.

Choose motor oil 543x321_step2-03 Choose motor oil 543x321_step2-03