CANADA'S STORE Made for Life in Canada

Credit Offered* Learn More

How to stain a deck

Cleaning and applying a protective coat of stain can not only extend the life of your deck, but also give it an updated look.

ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck

STEP 1

Inspect the condition

If your deck was built using new wood, allow the wood to cure for at least 4-8 weeks before staining. For pressure treated wood, do not treat for 1 year after installation. If composite wood was used, you should check for moisture repelants or sealers, which can prevent adhesion. For decks with old wood, replace any visibly rotting or decayed pieces.

ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step1 ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step1

STEP 2

Clean your deck

Get your deck ready for staining by using a deck cleaner or deck stripper to clean it. For previously stained or sealed surfaces you will need to use a deck stripper to allow for proper adhesion

ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step2 ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step2

STEP 3

Choose your coating

A solid colour stain will have a solid finish, hiding any wood grain, and offer the best protection against moisture and UV rays. Semi-transparent stain will show most of the wood grain. These stains provide some protection from the elements, but the lifespan will generally be shorter than solid stains. Clear finishes provide limited UV protection, but allow the natural grain and colour of the wood to show through. These finishes are most widely used when staining high-quality exotic woods. 

ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step3 ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step3

STEP 4

Start staining

To start, use a brush to stain vertical surfaces and intricate areas. For horizontal surfaces, complete entire length of board before moving on to the next. Be sure to back brush, working the paint into all the wood’s natural crevices and between deck boards, for even application.

ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step4 ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step4

STEP 5

Work in sections

If you have to take a break, finish the deck boards you're working on so that you don't leave a line when you start work again. If you are applying a water seal product, you can brush it on or use a sprayer to get the job done quickly.

ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step5 ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step5

NOTRE MAGASIN Fait pour la vie ici.

Crédit Offert* EN SAVOIR PLUS

DÉPENSEZ 150 $+*, OBTENEZ UNE PRIME DE 15 $ EN ARGENT CTMD*
avec Récompenses TriangleMD le 12 août. *Achat avant taxes. Sous réserve de conditions.

Comment teindre une terrasse

Vous pouvez augmenter la durée utile de votre terrasse et rehausser son apparence en la nettoyant et en appliquant une couche de teinture protectrice.

ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck

ÉTAPE 1

Vérifier l’état de votre terrasse

Si votre terrasse est faite de bois neuf, laissez sécher ce dernier au moins 4 à 8 semaines avant de le teindre. Si elle est faite de bois traité sous pression, attendez un an après son installation avant de le teindre. Quant au bois composite, vérifiez la présence d’un scellant ou d’un revêtement résistant à l’humidité qui pourrait empêcher la teinture d’adhérer au bois. Si le bois de votre terrasse est vieux, remplacez toutes les pièces présentant des signes visibles de pourriture ou de décomposition.

ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step1 ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step1

ÉTAPE 2

Nettoyer votre terrasse

Nettoyez votre terrasse à l’aide d’une solution nettoyante ou d’un décapant pour terrasse. Pour les surfaces déjà teintes ou scellées, vous devrez utiliser un décapant pour terrasse afin de permettre à la teinture d’adhérer au bois.

ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step2 ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step2

ÉTAPE 3

Choisir votre revêtement

Une teinture opaque unie produira un fini opaque qui cachera le grain du bois et offrira la meilleure protection contre l’humidité et les rayons UV. Une teinture semi-transpirante ne masquera pas entièrement l’effet du grain de bois. Ces teintures procurent une certaine protection contre les intempéries, mais leur durée de vie sera généralement plus courte que les teintures opaques. Les teintures transparentes procurent une protection limitée contre les rayons UV, mais elles mettent en valeur l’effet du grain et la couleur du bois. Ce type de teinture est généralement utilisé pour teindre des bois exotiques de grande qualité.

ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step3 ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step3

ÉTAPE 4

Commencer à teindre votre bois

Pour commencer, utilisez un pinceau pour teindre les surfaces verticales et les zones moins accessibles. Pour les surfaces horizontales, teignez toute la longueur de la planche avant de passer à la suivante. Assurez-vous de repasser le pinceau, en faisant pénétrer la teinture dans toutes les fissures naturelles du bois et entre les planches, pour une application uniforme.

ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step4 ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step4

ÉTAPE 5

Travailler en sections

Si vous prenez une pause, terminez les planches sur lesquelles vous travaillez afin de ne pas créer de ligne en reprenant le travail. Si vous appliquez un enduit imperméabilisant, vous pouvez utiliser un pinceau ou, pour aller plus vite, un pulvérisateur.

ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step5 ct howto 2016 Outdoor StainaDeck Step5