CANADA'S STORE Made for Life in Canada

Credit Offered* Learn More

Collect 25x Bonus CT Money®8
on BBQs, outdoor furniture and more until Aug 18. 8Conditions apply.

How to choose cookware

Whether you’re a once a week cook or a master chef in training, the right cookware will help you make delicious meals and keep you from spending too much time cleaning up afterwards. Don’t worry — you got this!

how to choose cookware 1280x522 fwt how to choose cookware 1280x522 fwt

Stainless Steel

Available in various price points, stainless steel cookware is very durable, attractive and a great choice for everyday home cooks. Stainless steel cookware comes in three different types.

ChooseCookware Step1-01 ChooseCookware Step1-01

Encapsulated stainless steel

Encapsulated stainless steel sets have an internal layer of aluminum, which distributes the heat, at the base of each piece. These are on the lower end of the price spectrum and ideal for a casual cook.

ChooseCookware Step1-02 ChooseCookware Step1-02

Multi-ply Stainless Steel

Multi-ply stainless steel sets have an internal layer of aluminum on the bottom and the sides, which provides a more even heat distribution. If you take cooking seriously and want to invest in a cookware set, this might be the right choice for you. 

ChooseCookware Step1-03 ChooseCookware Step1-03

Copper Multi-ply

If you love the look of copper and the precise heat control that it offers, you may want to choose a multi-ply with an exposed copper layer. The exposed copper does require upkeep to maintain, so factor that into your decision. 

ChooseCookware Step1-04 ChooseCookware Step1-04

5-ply Copper Clad

If you’re a master chef without the time or desire to maintain the appearance of copper pots, the 5-ply copper sets offer the best of both worlds. With the high-performing copper sandwiched on an inside layer and the maintenance-free stainless steel on the outside, they always look great and offer superior heat control. This would be a great investment set.

ChooseCookware Step1-05 ChooseCookware Step1-05

Non-Stick

If you’re looking for cookware that’s very easy to use and clean, non-stick could be for you. There are a couple different kinds.

ChooseCookware Step1-06 ChooseCookware Step1-06

Traditional Non-Stick

Traditional non-stick cookware performs extremely well, particular if you’re cooking without oil. However, it should not be used with high heat, because it can cause the non-stick coating to deteriorate.

ChooseCookware Step1-07 ChooseCookware Step1-07

Ceramic

Cookware with a ceramic non-stick coating is all-natural and can be used at a high heat, but it might not perform quite as well as the traditional non-stick.

ChooseCookware Step1-08 ChooseCookware Step1-08

Cast Iron

Cast iron cookware is extremely durable and versatile and can be used for searing at very high temperatures. It comes in both vibrant colours as well as traditional black. Both deliver good non-stick properties and the coloured casseroles are stylish enough to go from oven to stovetop to table.

See Cookware >
ChooseCookware Step1-09 ChooseCookware Step1-09

Number of Pieces

Your next decision will be based on how many pieces of cookware you’re looking for. Many sets come complete with different sizes of pots, pans and lids, for maximum value.

See Cookware Sets >
ChooseCookware Step2 ChooseCookware Step2

Consider the Handles

Cookware has a variety of handles in a range of materials, each with a different heat rating — meaning how high the temperature can be if you use that pan in the oven. Find the style and heat rating that fits your needs. 

See Cookware >
ChooseCookware Step3 ChooseCookware Step3

NOTRE MAGASIN Fait pour la vie ici.

Crédit Offert* EN SAVOIR PLUS

OBTENEZ UNE PRIME DE 25X L’ARGENT CTMD8
sur les barbecues, les meubles d’extérieur et plus, jusqu’au 18 août. 8Des conditions s’appliquent..

Comment choisir une batterie de cuisine

Que vous soyez un cuisinier occasionnel ou un chef en formation, une bonne batterie de cuisine vous permettra d’apprêter de délicieux repas et d’éviter de passer trop de temps à nettoyer. Pas de souci, vous avez ce qu’il faut!

how to choose cookware 1280x522 fwt how to choose cookware 1280x522 fwt

Acier inoxydable

Les batteries de cuisine en acier inoxydable, offertes dans différentes gammes de prix, sont très durables, attrayantes, et sont un excellent choix pour les repas maison. Elles sont offertes en trois types différents.

ChooseCookware Step1-01 ChooseCookware Step1-01

Acier inoxydable encapsulé

Les batteries en acier inoxydable encapsulé possèdent une couche interne en aluminium à la base de chaque pièce. Ces batteries sont les moins dispendieuses et sont parfaites pour la cuisine de tous les jours.

ChooseCookware Step1-02 ChooseCookware Step1-02

Acier inoxydable multiplis

Les batteries en acier inoxydable multiplis possèdent une couche interne en aluminium à la base et sur les côtés, pour une meilleure distribution de la chaleur. Si vous prenez la cuisine au sérieux et désirez investir dans une batterie de cuisine, celle-ci est parfaite pour vous.

ChooseCookware Step1-03 ChooseCookware Step1-03

Multiplis en cuivre

Si vous aimez l’apparence du cuivre et le contrôle précis de la chaleur qu’il offre, choisissez alors une batterie multiplis avec une couche en cuivre en surface. Le cuivre en surface exige de l’entretien, veuillez en tenir compte lors de votre décision.

ChooseCookware Step1-04 ChooseCookware Step1-04

Cuivre 5-plis

Si vous êtes un chef et que vous n’avez pas le temps de vous soucier de l’apparence de vos casseroles en cuivre, une batterie 5-plis offre le meilleur des deux mondes. Conçue avec une couche interne de cuivre à rendement élevé et en acier inoxydable sans entretien en surface, elle aura toujours belle apparence et offrira un contrôle supérieur de la chaleur. Elle représente également un bon investissement.

ChooseCookware Step1-05 ChooseCookware Step1-05

Revêtement antiadhésif

Si vous recherchez une batterie facile à utiliser et à nettoyer, le revêtement antiadhésif est parfait pour vous. Il existe quelques modèles.

ChooseCookware Step1-06 ChooseCookware Step1-06

Antiadhésif traditionnel

Les batteries avec un revêtement antiadhésif traditionnel offrent un bon rendement, surtout lors de la cuisson sans gras. Cependant, il est préférable de ne pas les utiliser à chaleur élevée, car le revêtement peut se détériorer.

ChooseCookware Step1-07 ChooseCookware Step1-07

Céramique

Le revêtement en céramique antiadhésif est naturel et peut être utilisé à température élevée, mais peut offrir un rendement moindre que l’antiadhésif traditionnel.

ChooseCookware Step1-08 ChooseCookware Step1-08

Fonte

Les batteries de cuisine en fonte sont extrêmement durables et polyvalentes, et peuvent être utilisées pour griller à très haute température. Elles sont offertes dans des couleurs vives ou dans le traditionnel noir. Les deux présentent de bonnes propriétés antiadhésives et les casseroles de couleur sont assez élégantes pour passer de la cuisinière à la table.

Voir Plats de Cuisine >
ChooseCookware Step1-09 ChooseCookware Step1-09

Nombre de pièces

Votre prochaine décision consiste à déterminer le nombre de morceaux nécessaires. Certaines batteries viennent avec des casseroles, des couvercles et des poêles de différentes tailles, pour un excellent prix.

Voir Batteries de Cuisine >
Choose Cookware Step 2 Choose Cookware Step 2

Évaluez les poignées

Les poignées sont offertes en différents matériaux, avec des valeurs thermiques différentes, soit la chaleur maximale lorsqu’elles sont utilisées dans le four. Trouvez le style et la valeur thermale qui répondent à vos besoins. 

Voir Plats de Cuisine >
ChooseCookware Step3 ChooseCookware Step3