CANADA'S STORE Made for Life in Canada

Credit Offered* Learn More

COLLECT 25X BONUS CT MONEY®8
on BBQs, outdoor furniture and more until Aug 18. 8Conditions apply.

How to choose a sport rack

Securing equipment for winter and water sports to the exterior of your vehicle frees up interior space for a comfortable and safe drive. With larger items, it may be your only option. ​

how to choose a sport rack fwt how to choose a sport rack fwt

Ski and snowboard racks

Roof-mounted ski and snowboard racks can accommodate up to 4 to 6 pairs of skis or 2 to 4 snowboards and need to be attached to a complete roof rack system with crossbars on your vehicle. These racks are designed with integrated locks to protect your gear – ideal for those pit-stops on the way to or from the slopes, and some models have oversized buttons for ease of use with winter gloves 

Shop our selection of ski & snowboard racks >
how to choose a sport rack step 4 how to choose a sport rack step 4

Kayak, canoe and paddleboard racks

Roof-mounted racks made for transporting kayaks, canoes and paddleboards have either a J stacker design, which is the easiest to load and offload, or a side stacker design, which has a greater capacity. Generally these racks are made to secure up to 2 vessels and need to be attached to a complete roof rack system with crossbars on your vehicle.

Shop our selection of Kayak, Canoe & Paddleboard racks >
how to choose a sport rack step 1-2 how to choose a sport rack step 1-2

Foam block cradles

These can be used to transport kayaks and canoes on a vehicle without roof racks. The vessel is placed on top of the vehicle with foam blocks resting inside the gunnel for stability. The accompanying straps are used to secure it to the roof.

Shop our selection of foam block cradles >
how to choose a sport rack 1-3 how to choose a sport rack 1-3

Roof rack with crossbars

All rooftop cargo carriers require a roof rack with crossbars installed on your vehicle. Make sure to choose a system that’s compatible with your vehicle by consulting the vehicle selector tool on the product page.

If your vehicle already has crossbars, you may not need to add a roof rack. Most sport racks and cargo carriers are designed to fit existing crossbars as well as roof racks.

Shop our selection of roof racks >
how to choose a sport rack step 2-1 how to choose a sport rack step 2-1

Roof racks without crossbars

Some sport racks can mount directly to the vehicle without the use of a mounting system. These carriers are a good solution for occasional users, but not recommended for long-term use, heavy loads, or frequent use.

Shop our selection of roof racks >
how to choose a sport rack step 2-2 how to choose a sport rack step 2-2

NOTRE MAGASIN Fait pour la vie ici.

Crédit Offert* EN SAVOIR PLUS

OBTENEZ UNE PRIME DE 25X L’ARGENT CTMD8
sur les barbecues, les meubles d’extérieur et plus, jusqu’au 18 août. 8Des conditions s’appliquent.

Comment choisir un porte-équipement de sport

Le transport d’équipement pour les sports d’hiver et nautiques sur le véhicule libère de l’espace à l’intérieur et rehausse le confort et la sécurité. Il s’agit parfois de la seule solution pour les articles plus volumineux.

how to choose a sport rack fwt how to choose a sport rack fwt

Porte-skis et porte-planches à neige

Les porte-skis et porte-planches à neige de toit logent de 4 à 6 paires de skis ou 2 à 4 planches à neige. Ils doivent être fixés à un porte-bagages de toit complet muni de barres transversales. Ils comportent des verrous qui protègent l’équipement, parfaits pour les arrêts lors des voyages de ski, et certains modèles sont dotés de grands boutons faciles à manœuvrer avec des gants.

Magasinez dans notre sélection de porte-skis et de porte-planches à neige >
how to choose a sport rack step 4 how to choose a sport rack step 4

Porte-kayak, canot et planche à pagaie

Les porte-bagages de toit pour le transport de kayaks, de canots et de planches à pagaie adoptent une forme en J, plus facile à charger et à décharger, ou en support latéral, de plus grande capacité. Ces porte-bagages sont généralement conçus pour accueillir deux articles et ils doivent être fixés à un porte-bagages complet muni de barres transversales.

Magasinez dans notre sélection de porte-kayak, canot et planche à pagaie >
how to choose a sport rack step 1-2 how to choose a sport rack step 1-2

Blocs de mousse

Ces blocs servent à transporter des kayaks et des canots sans porte-bagages de toit. L’article est placé sur le toit sur des blocs de mousse qui reposent sur les plats-bords pour garantir la stabilité. Des sangles servent à fixer le tout sur le toit.

Magasinez dans notre sélection de blocs de mousse >
how to choose a sport rack 1-3 how to choose a sport rack 1-3

Porte-bagages muni de barres transversales

Tous les porte-bagages de toit requièrent un porte-bagages muni de barres transversales sur votre véhicule. Assurez-vous de choisir un système compatible avec votre véhicule à l’aide de l’outil de sélection du véhicule sur la page de l’article.

Un porte-bagages peut-être inutile si des barres transversales sont déjà en place. La plupart des porte-équipement et coffres de toit conviennent aux barres transversales d’origine et aux porte-bagages de toit.

Magasinez dans notre sélection de porte-bagages muni >
how to choose a sport rack step 2-1 how to choose a sport rack step 2-1

Porte-bagages sans barres transversales

Certains porte-équipement peuvent être directement posés sur le véhicule sans système de montage. Cette solution occasionnelle adéquate n’est toutefois pas recommandée pour les usages à long terme, les charges lourdes ou les usages fréquents.

Magasinez dans notre sélection de porte-bagages muni >
how to choose a sport rack step 2-2 how to choose a sport rack step 2-2