CANADA'S STORE Made for Life in Canada

Credit Offered* Learn More

PWR POD™ Frequently Asked Questions

General

PWR POD™ is the first Universal Battery System in Canada, which uses a single battery connection to power a wide array of products. With PWR POD™, you can use the same battery and interchange it between products spanning across a family of brands sold exclusively at Canadian Tire. This means you can do everything like drill, inflate, work and play and go back and forth without ever thinking, “Did I have the right battery?” With PWR POD™, you always have power.

Never before in Canada has there been a platform that works across multiple brands! PWR POD™ currently powers compatible products within Mastercraft®, Simoniz®, MotoMaster™ and Woods™ , with more brands on the way. All PWR POD™ batteries are also compatible with Mastercraft® 20V and Simoniz® 20V products that are already available.

Amp hours (Ah) represent the capacity of the battery, which is a measure of the charge stored by the battery. This means that batteries with higher Ah have a higher capacity and therefore longer runtime. 

Runtime refers to how long a battery charge will last under a given load. Therefore, the runtime will depend on the product. There are three levels of Ah for PWR POD™ – the higher the Ah, the longer your battery will last under its full charge.

PWR POD™ is compatible with select Mastercraft®, Simoniz®, MotoMaster™ and Woods™ products. Check out the PWR POD™ landing page for more information on compatible brands. You can also look for the PWR POD™ symbol on product packaging.

PWR POD™ batteries are compatible with Mastercraft® 20V and Simoniz® 20V products, as well as any products marked with the PWR POD™ symbol. The batteries cannot be used with other 20V products from other brands.

The PWR POD™ Universal Battery System changes the game every which way – it makes power always available, no matter the tool or task. We’ll keep adding new brands and products to our lineup, because our goal is to help you power all of your powered moments.

Selecting the Right Battery

PWR POD™ offers three levels of power that are ideal for any use depending on the tool: ​Compact (2.0 Ah), Mid (4.0 Ah – 5.0 Ah), and ​Max (8.0 Ah, coming soon). 

To select the right battery, take a look at the product box, manual, or online for the minimum recommended battery Ah. You can purchase a higher Ah battery if you want a longer runtime. If you prefer a lighter weight battery, you can choose a battery with lower amp hours. Each PWR POD™ battery level is designed to meet your unique power needs:

COMPACT (2.0 Ah) - Compact performance for smaller products.

MID (4.0-5.0 Ah) - Mid-range endurance for medium-sized products.

MAX (8.0 Ah) - Extended endurance for power-hungry products.

Please refer to the details below for guidance on what symbols to look for on the packaging of your PWR POD™ compatible product. These symbols indicate which battery is the minimum requirement for optimal use of your product:

COMPACT: Products that require 2.0 Ah will have only the PWR POD™ Symbol

MID: Products that require 4.0-5.0 Ah will have the Symbol and half power bar icon

MAX: Products that require 8.0 Ah will have the Symbol and full power bar icon

Products

Yes, all PWR POD™ batteries are compatible with Mastercraft® 20V and Simoniz® 20V tools and chargers that are currently available.

We have a wide variety of products that include the product and the battery. Plus, we have packaging that have the 'Product' only (battery not included) for customers who already have a battery from a previous purchase. Please look for the yellow identification box on the package to find the ones that have  'Product' only. To identify products that use PWR POD™ as a secondary power source, look for the PWR POD™ logo as it is clearly called out on the packaging.

PWR POD™ batteries and chargers are guaranteed for two (2) years from the date of original retail purchase against defects in materials and workmanship.

Batteries can be charged with any of our PWR POD™ chargers:

•20V 90W Fast Charger (SKU#: 054-7565)

•Multi-Pack 60W Dual-Port Charger (SKU#: 054-7567)

Only PWR POD™ and Mastercraft® 20V product line chargers can be used. 

The batteries are 20V MAX, equaling to 18V nominal voltage. Nominal voltage is the voltage of a fully charged battery when delivering rated capacity at a specific discharge rate. 

Generally PWR POD™ batteries are tested to 500 cycles. Life expectancy may vary depending on usage and storage conditions.

Tips to maximize battery life:

•Recharge as soon as you notice a decrease in power.

•Store in cool, dry location and avoid extreme temperatures.

•Keep tools in action, as battery life decreases with lack of use.

•Leave the battery plugged in until it’s completely charged.

There is a charge level check button located at the front of the battery with four LEDs to show the charge levels. One LED light indicates 25% charged, two is 50% charged, three is 75% charged, and four means 100% charged. If the four LEDs are on, this means the battery is fully charged.

Time to charge depends on the charger/battery combo. See below as guideline:

 

2.0 Ah Charge Time

•45W Charger: 75 min

•90W Fast Charger: 40 min

•60W Dual Port Charger: 60 min

4.0 Ah Charge Time

•45W Charger: 145 min

•90W Fast Charger: 70 min

•60W Dual Port Charger: 120 min

5.0 Ah Charge Time

•45W Charger: 180 min

•90W Fast Charger: 90 min

•60W Dual Port Charger: 150 min

The charger is designed to stop after fully charging the battery. After the battery has finished charging, you can leave the battery in the charger or you can remove it. The battery life will not be impacted.

It is recommended to remove the battery from the product when not in use to prevent accidentally turning it on when storing the product, and to avoid over discharging of the battery. The battery does have low voltage protection built into the battery. 

This is highly dependent on the tool/battery combination. Best practice is to follow the power level/battery tier recommended for each of the tools for optimal use. As a general note, higher Ah = longer run time.

The weight depends on the battery capacity:

 

•PWR POD™ 2.0Ah Battery – 0.44 kg (15 1/2 oz)

•PWR POD™ 4.0Ah Battery - 0.68 kg (1 lb 8 oz)

•PWR POD™ 5.0Ah Battery – 0.72 kg (1 lb 9 oz)

•PWR POD™ 8.0Ah Battery – 1 kg (2 lb 3 oz)

Troubleshooting

Option 1: Please ensure that the battery is charged. The battery pack may be too hot. Remove from unit and allow time for the battery pack to cool.

Option 2: Put the product and battery in room temperature for 30 minutes and try again in case it is too hot/cold. You can also try using the battery in another tool.

The battery pack may be too hot or cold. Leave the battery indoors for 20 minutes so it returns to room temperature, and then charge again. Disconnect and re-connect battery pack to charger to check connection.

You can also look for the charger warnings that indicate if it is a fault or temperature warning:

•1st and 3rd LED flashing alternately = battery is overheated

•All LEDs flashing = battery is depleted

To preserve natural resources, please recycle or dispose of batteries properly. This product contains lithium-ion batteries. Provincial or municipal laws may prohibit disposal of Lithium-Ion batteries in ordinary trash. Consult your local waste authority for information regarding available recycling and/or disposal options. For more information, please click the following link: https://www.canadiantire.ca/en/provincial-recycling-information.html#batteries.

Flashing LEDs can mean one of the following Battery Error codes:

•1st LED flashing = low battery (under 20% charged)

•1st and 3rd flashing alternately = battery is overheated

•All LEDs flashing = battery is depleted

If it is not charging, the problem may be as per the following Error codes:

•Red LED ON, Green LED OFF = Over/Under Temperature

•Red LED flashing, Green LED OFF = Battery/Charger is defective

If you use a battery with amp hours (Ah) lower than the recommended amount, the runtime will be very limited and the tool might shut-off during heavy loading.

If you have any further questions, please contact our customer service team at 1-833-674-0957.

 

PWR POD™

NOTRE MAGASIN Fait pour la vie ici.

Crédit Offert* EN SAVOIR PLUS

OBTENEZ UNE PRIME DE 25X L’ARGENT CTMD8
sur les barbecues, les meubles d’extérieur et plus, jusqu’au 18 août. 8Des conditions s’appliquent..

Foire aux questions sur le système PWR POD

Général

PWR PODMC est le premier système de batterie universel au Canada, qui utilise une seule connexion de batterie pour alimenter une vaste gamme d'articles. Avec PWR PODMC, vous pouvez utiliser la même batterie et l'interchanger entre les articles d'une famille de marques offertes en exclusivité chez Canadian Tire. Cela signifie que vous pouvez faire tout ce que vous voulez, comme percer, gonfler, travailler ou jouer, et alterner sans jamais avoir à vous demander : « Ai-je la bonne batterie? » Avec PWR PODMC, vous aurez toujours l'alimentation nécessaire.

Au Canada, il n'y a jamais eu de plateforme qui fonctionne avec plusieurs marques! PWR PODMC alimente actuellement les produits compatibles avec MastercraftMD, SimonizMD, MotoMasterMC et WoodsMC, et d'autres marques seront ajoutées. Toutes les batteries PWR PODMC sont également compatibles avec les batteries pour les articles de 20 V MastercraftMD et de 20 V SimonizMD qui sont déjà offerts.

Les ampères-heures (Ah) représentent la capacité de la batterie, qui est une mesure de la charge stockée par la batterie. Plus le nombre d'Ah est élevé, plus la capacité est élevée et plus la durée d'utilisation est longue. Par conséquent, une batterie avec moins d'Ah aura une capacité inférieure, mais son poids sera plus léger.

Le temps d'utilisation dépend de l'article, car il est mesuré en Ah. Il y a trois niveaux d'Ah (plus d'Ah = autonomie plus longue).

PWR PODMC alimente actuellement les produits compatibles avec MastercraftMD, SimonizMD, MotoMasterMC et WoodsMC. Consultez ce lien pour plus d'informations sur les marques compatibles. Vous pouvez aussi rechercher le symbole PWR PODMC sur l'emballage des articles.

Les batteries PWR PODMC sont compatibles avec les articles de 20 V MastercraftMD et de 20 V SimonizMD, ainsi que tous les articles portant le symbole PWR PODMD. Les batteries ne peuvent pas être utilisées avec d'autres articles de 20 V d'autres marques.

Le système de batterie universel PWR PODMC change complètement la donne : il vous permet d'avoir toujours de l'alimentation, peu importe l'outil ou la tâche. Nous ajouterons constamment de nouvelles marques et de nouveaux articles à notre gamme, car notre objectif est de vous aider à avoir toujours l'alimentation nécessaire.

Choisir la bonne batterie

La batterie PWR PODMC offre trois niveaux de puissance qui conviennent à toutes les utilisations, selon l'outil : compacte (2 Ah), moyenne (4 Ah à 5 Ah) et élevée (8 Ah, à venir). 

Pour choisir la bonne batterie, jetez un coup d'œil à la boîte de l'article, au manuel ou en ligne pour connaître la batterie minimale recommandée. Vous pouvez acheter une batterie avec plus d'Ah si vous avez besoin d'une autonomie plus longue. Si vous préférez une batterie plus légère, vous pouvez choisir une batterie avec moins d'ampères-heures.

 

Chaque niveau de batterie PWR PODMC est conçu pour répondre à vos besoins uniques en matière d'alimentation :

COMPACTE (2 Ah) – Rendement compact pour appareils plus petits.

MOYENNE (4 - 5 Ah) – Endurance moyenne pour appareils de taille moyenne.

ÉLEVÉE (8 Ah) – Endurance prolongée pour appareils énergivores.

Veuillez consulter les détails suivant pour connaître les symboles à rechercher sur votre article compatible avec PWR PODMC. Ces symboles indiquent quelle batterie représente l'exigence minimale pour une utilisation optimale de votre article :

COMPACTE: Les articles qui nécessitent 2 Ah ne porteront que le symbole PWR PODMC

MOYENNE: Les articles qui nécessitent de 4 à 5 Ah porteront le symbole et une icône de demi-barre d'alimentation

ÉLEVÉE: Les articles qui nécessitent 8 Ah porteront le symbole et une icône de barre d'alimentation pleine

Articles

Oui, toutes les batteries PWR PODMC sont compatibles avec les outils et les chargeurs de 20 V MastercraftMD et de 20 V SimonizMD qui sont actuellement disponibles.

Nous offrons une grande variété d'articles qui comprennent la batterie. De plus, nous offrons un emballage qui contient seulement l'article (batterie non comprise) pour les clients qui possèdent déjà une batterie grâce à un achat antérieur. Veuillez chercher la case d'identification jaune sur l'emballage pour trouver ceux qui ne contiennent que l'article. Pour identifier les articles qui utilisent PWR PODMC comme source d'alimentation secondaire, recherchez le logo PWR PODMC, car il est clairement indiqué sur l'emballage.

Les batteries et les chargeurs PWR PODMC sont garantis pendant deux (2) ans à compter de la date d'achat initiale au détail contre les défauts de matériaux et de fabrication.

Les batteries peuvent être chargées avec n'importe lequel des chargeurs PWR PODMC :

•Chargeur rapide de 20 V et 90 W (#: 054-7565)
•Chargeur à 2 ports de 60 W, emballage multiple (#: 054-7567)

Seuls les chargeurs PWR PODMC et les chargeurs de 20 V MastercraftMD peuvent être utilisés.

Les batteries ont une puissance maximale de 20 V, soit une tension nominale de 18 V.

En général, les batteries PWR PODMC sont évaluées pour 500 cycles. L'autonomie peut varier selon les conditions d'utilisation et d'entreposage.

Quelques conseils pour maximiser l'autonomie de la batterie :

•Rechargez la batterie dès que vous remarquez une diminution de la puissance.

•Entreposez la batterie dans un endroit frais et sec et évitez les températures extrêmes.

•Utilisez constamment les outils, car l'autonomie de la batterie diminue avec le manque d'utilisation.

•Laissez la batterie branchée jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit complètement chargée.

Vous trouverez un bouton de vérification du niveau de charge situé à l'avant de la batterie avec quatre voyants à DEL indiquant le niveau de charge. Un voyant à DEL indique une charge de 25 %, deux voyants indiquent une charge de 50 %, trois voyants indiquent une charge de 75 % et quatre voyants indiquent une charge de 100 %. Si les quatre voyants DEL sont allumés, cela signifie que la batterie est complètement chargée.

Le temps de charge dépend de l'ensemble avec chargeur et batterie. Consultez les détails suivant en guise de ligne directrice :

 

2 Ah Temps de recharge

•Chargeur de 45 W: 75 min

•Chargeur rapide de 90 W: 40 min

•Chargeur à 2 ports de 60 W: 60 min

 

4 Ah Temps de recharge

•Chargeur de 45 W: 145 min

•Chargeur rapide de 90 W: 70 min

•Chargeur à 2 ports de 60 W: 120 min

 

5 Ah Temps de recharge

•Chargeur de 45 W: 180 min

•Chargeur rapide de 90 W: 90 min

•Chargeur à 2 ports de 60 W: 150 min

Le chargeur est conçu pour s'arrêter une fois que la batterie est complètement chargée. Une fois la charge terminée, vous pouvez laisser la batterie dans le chargeur ou la retirer. L'autonomie de la batterie ne sera pas affectée.

Il est recommandé de retirer la batterie de l'article lorsqu'elle n'est pas utilisée afin d'éviter de l'allumer accidentellement au moment de ranger l'article et d'éviter de décharger trop souvent la batterie. La batterie est dotée d'une protection intégrée contre la basse tension. 

Cela dépend surtout de l'ensemble avec outil et batterie. La meilleure pratique consiste à suivre le niveau de puissance et le niveau de batterie recommandés pour chacun des outils pour une utilisation optimale. En général, plus le nombre d'Ah est élevé, plus la durée d'utilisation est longue.

Le poids dépend de la capacité de la batterie :

 

•Batterie PWR PODMC 2 Ah : 0,44 kg (15 1/2 oz)

•Batterie PWR PODMC 4 Ah : 0,68 kg (1 lb 8 oz)

•Batterie PWR PODMC 5 Ah : 0,72 kg (1 lb 9 oz)

•Batterie PWR PODMC 8 Ah : 1 kg (2 lb 3 oz)

Dépannage

Option 1 : Assurez-vous que la batterie est chargée. Le bloc-piles est peut-être trop chaud. Retirez le bloc-piles de l'appareil et laissez-le refroidir.

Option 2 : Laissez l'article et la batterie à température ambiante pendant 30 minutes et essayez de nouveau au cas où il serait trop chaud ou trop froid. Vous pouvez aussi essayer d'utiliser la batterie dans un autre outil.

Le bloc-piles est peut-être trop chaud ou trop froid. Laissez la batterie à l'intérieur pendant 20 minutes pour qu'elle revienne à la température ambiante, puis rechargez-la. Débranchez le bloc-batterie et rebranchez-le au chargeur pour vérifier la connexion.

Vous pouvez également rechercher les avertissements du chargeur qui indiquent s'il s'agit d'un avertissement de défaillance ou de température :

•Clignotement du 1er et 3e voyant DEL en alternance = surchauffe de la batterie

•Tous les voyants DEL clignotent = la batterie est déchargée  

Afin de préserver les ressources naturelles, veuillez recycler ou jeter les piles de façon appropriée. Cet article contient des batteries au lithium-ion. Les lois provinciales ou municipales peuvent interdire l'élimination des piles au lithium-ion parmi les ordures ordinaires. Consultez les autorités locales en matière de déchets pour obtenir des renseignements sur les options de recyclage et d'élimination. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez cliquer sur le lien suivant : https://www.canadiantire.ca/fr/provincial-recycling-information.html#batteries.

Les voyants DEL clignotants peuvent indiquer l'un des codes d'erreur de batterie suivants :

•1er voyant DEL clignotant = batterie faible (charge inférieure à 20 %)

•Clignotement du 1er et 3e voyant DEL en alternance = surchauffe de la batterie

•Tous les voyants DEL clignotent = la batterie est déchargée  

Si le chargement n'est pas en cours, le problème peut se présenter en fonction des codes d'erreur suivants :

 

•Voyant DEL rouge allumé, voyant DEL vert éteint = température trop élevée/basse

•Voyant DEL rouge clignotant, voyant DEL vert éteint = batterie/chargeur défectueux

Si vous utilisez une batterie dont le nombre d'ampères-heures (Ah) est inférieur à la quantité recommandée, le temps d'utilisation sera très limité et l'appareil pourrait s'arrêter en cas de charge élevée.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec notre équipe du service à la clientèle au 1 833 674-0957.

 

PWR POD