How to

choose a drill

Whether you’re hanging a picture or sinking screws into a new deck, a good fastening tool is a DIY essential. Here’s a quick primer on picking one that’s perfect for you.

How to

choose a drill

Whether you’re hanging a picture or sinking screws into a new deck, a good fastening tool is a DIY essential. Here’s a quick primer on picking one that’s perfect for you.

Use

What are you going to use it for?

Before you start looking at all the options that are available, you should consider what you plan on using it for. 

If it’s for small home projects, try a cordless version. It has more than enough power to get the job done and maximum portability, for ease of use. With today’s innovation, technology, and improved quality of drills, even professionals choose cordless drills for heavy-duty use.  

If you plan on drilling into concrete, masonry or brick, then a hammer drill is required. For mechanic work, such as fastening nuts and bolts, a drill is not the best tool; you should consider an impact wrench. Lastly, if you think you need a drill to simply drive some screws, stop right there and go for an impact driver instead. 

Types

Cordless Drill Drivers

A cordless drill driver is the most convenient, portable solution for the majority of drilling and fastening projects around the home. A rechargeable battery pack gives you access to all the power and mobility you need. 

Cordless drill drivers are available in models with maximum power ranging from 3.6 volts to 20 volts — the most popular models that will usually meet homeowners' needs. 

See Cordless Drills

Corded Drills

While you do need access to a power source, corded drills will offer continuous runtime. A higher amperage (A) motor delivers more power and is recommended for heavy-duty or professional use. 
See Corded Drills

Impact Drivers

Impact drivers are the best option for driving and removing screws. They’re compact, deliver a strong, sudden rotational force, and offer a quick-release hex drive for simple bit changes. 
See Impact Drivers

Impact Wrenches

Available in cordless and corded models, impact wrenches are designed to deliver high torque output with minimal exertion by the user. They’re popular tools for construction and automotive activities — some can be used for changing tires when combined with an impact socket to fasten the larger nuts and bolts.
See Impact Wrenches

Hammer Drills

Available in cordless and corded models, hammer drills are practical for the toughest jobs, delivering a powerful hammering action that makes it easy to drill into dense materials such as cement, block and brick. The hammer action can be turned on and off, so the tool can also be used as a standard drill. For projects involving even denser materials, such as concrete, a rotary hammer drill is recommended for a more powerful hammering mechanism.

See Hammer Drills

Battery

Lithium-Ion vs. Nickel-Cadmium

There are two main battery platforms used for cordless power tools: Lithium-Ion (Li-Ion) and Nickel-Cadmium (Ni-Cd). The most immediate difference you’ll notice between the two is how much lighter a Lithium-Ion battery is compared to Nickel-Cadmium battery, which makes it a preferred battery choice from an ease-of-use perspective. From a technical perspective, here are some important differences between the two:

Lingo

High-Low Speed Selection Speed

Harder materials or larger bits need to be worked at a higher speed than softer materials and smaller bits. Variable transmissions allow you to choose the right setting for the job at-hand. Speed is measured in revolutions per minute or RPM, while impact rate is measured in beats per minute or BPM. 

Torque

This refers to the strength or turning force of the drill. It’s important to note the speed and torque are inverse, meaning the higher speed output, the less torque can be applied. That’s why it’s good to choose a tool that allows you to select the speed and power output to optimize the drill or fastening job you are doing.  

Chuck Capacity

Most common drills come with either a 3/8"- or 1/2"-sized chuck to hold the bit. The most common and preferred size is 1/2”, as it can hold larger-sized bits and accessories. A chuck can be keyed, meaning tightened or loosened with a key, or keyless, meaning loosened by hand for convenient, frequent bit changes. Impact drivers typically have a 1/4” hex-shank quick-release chuck, meaning it will only accept 1/4” hex-shanked bits designed for convenient bit-change, due to the simple pull-and-replace feature on this tool.  

Amp Hours (Ah)

A battery with higher amp hours offers a longer run time between charges.

Brushless Motor

Carbon brushes in a conventional brushed motor create friction and heat, and will wear out and need replacing or servicing over time. A brushless motor is computer-controlled, offering improved power output and performance, and longer run time and motor life in a compact, lightweight design.

Combo Kit

A combo kit includes multiple tools that all use the same battery and charger. It’s a great way to get started and less expensive than purchasing individual tools.

Use

Types

Battery

Lingo

Comment

choisir la bonne perceuse

Que ce soit pour suspendre un cadre ou enfoncer des vis dans une terrasse, un bon outil de fixation est essentiel au bricoleur. Voici un guide rapide pour en choisir un qui vous convient.
Comment

choisir la bonne perceuse

Que ce soit pour suspendre un cadre ou enfoncer des vis dans une terrasse, un bon outil de fixation est essentiel au bricoleur. Voici un guide rapide pour en choisir un qui vous convient.

Utilisation

Quelle utilisation allez-vous en faire?

Avant d’évaluer toutes vos options, réfléchissez à l’utilisation que vous en ferez.

Si vous prévoyez utiliser votre perceuse pour de petits projets dans la maison, la version sans fil est une excellente option. Elle possède suffisamment de puissance pour accomplir le travail et tient bien en main, pour une facilité d’utilisation. Et grâce à l’innovation, à la technologie et à une meilleure qualité, même les professionnels choisissent des perceuses sans fil pour leurs gros travaux.

Si vous prévoyez percer du béton, de la maçonnerie ou de la brique, il vous faut une perceuse à percussion. Pour le travail mécanique, tel que de fixer des écrous et des boulons, la perceuse n’est pas le meilleur outil; optez plutôt pour une clé à chocs. Finalement, si vous n’avez que quelques vis à poser, arrêtez les recherches et choisissez un tournevis à percussion.

Types

Perceuse-tournevis sans fil

Une perceuse-tournevis sans fil est la solution la plus pratique et la plus portative pour la plupart des travaux de perçage et de fixation dans la maison. Une batterie rechargeable vous offre toute la puissance et la mobilité dont vous avez besoin.

Les perceuses-tournevis sans fil sont offertes en différents modèles dont la puissance varie de 3,6 volts à 20 volts – ce sont les modèles les plus populaires qui répondent généralement aux besoins des propriétaires.
Voir Perceuses sans fil

Perceuses avec fil

Bien qu’elles requièrent une prise de courant, les perceuses avec fil vous offrent un fonctionnement continu. Un moteur à ampères (A) plus élevés est plus puissant; il est recommandé pour les gros travaux ou les travaux professionnels.
Voir Perceuses avec fil

Tournevis à percussion

Les tournevis à percussions représentent la meilleure option pour visser ou dévisser. Ils sont compacts, produisent une force de rotation rapide et puissante et sont munis d’une prise hexagonale à dégagement rapide qui permet de changer d’accessoire facilement.
Voir Tournevis à percussion

Clés à chocs

Offertes avec ou sans fil, les clés à chocs sont conçues pour produire un couple élevé avec un minimum d’effort par l’utilisateur. C’est un outil populaire pour les travaux de construction et d’entretien automobile, y compris pour changer les pneus, à l’aide d’une douille pour clé à chocs servant à fixer les écrous et les boulons de grande taille; toutefois, ce ne sont pas toutes les clés à chocs qui sont conçues à cet effet.
Voir Clés à chocs

Perceuses à percussion

Offertes avec ou sans fil, les perceuses à percussion sont pratiques pour les gros travaux; elles produisent des coups puissants qui facilitent le perçage de matériaux denses tels que le ciment, les blocs et la brique. L’action de frappe peut être désactivée pour utiliser l’outil comme une perceuse ordinaire. Pour percer les matériaux encore plus denses tels que le béton, une perceuse à percussion rotative sera nécessaire en raison de son mécanisme de frappe encore plus puissant.

Voir Perceuses à percussion

Batterie

Lithium-Ion ou nickel-cadmium

Il existe deux principales batteries utilisées pour les outils électriques sans fil : le lithium-ion (Li-Ion) et le nickel-cadmium (Ni-Cd). La différence la plus remarquable entre les deux est le poids nettement plus léger de la batterie à lithium-ion, ce qui en fait le premier choix du point de vue de la facilité d’utilisation. D’un point de vue technique, voici quelques différences importantes entre les deux :

Jargon

Sélecteur de vitesse à 2 réglages

Les matériaux plus durs ou les plus gros forets requièrent une vitesse supérieure à celle des matériaux plus tendres ou des plus petits forets. Les transmissions variables vous permettent de choisir le bon réglage à portée de la main. La vitesse est mesurée en tours à la minute tandis que le taux de percussion est mesuré en coups à la minute.

Couple

Le couple fait référence à la puissance ou à la force de rotation de la perceuse. Il est important de noter que la vitesse et le couple sont inverses, ce qui signifie que plus la vitesse est élevée, moins le couple sera puissant. C’est pourquoi il est important de choisir un outil qui vous permettra de sélectionner la vitesse et la puissance pour optimiser votre travail de perçage ou de fixation.

Capacité du mandrin

La plupart des perceuses sont munies d’un mandrin d’une capacité de 3/8 po ou de 1/2 po pour tenir le foret en place. La taille la plus courante et la plus populaire est 1/2 po, car elle peut contenir des forets et des accessoires de plus grande taille. Il existe deux sortes de mandrins : avec clé, qui peut être serré ou desserré à l’aide d’une clé, ou sans clé, qui peut être desserré à la main pour faciliter les changements fréquents de douilles. Les tournevis à percussion sont généralement munis d’un mandrin à tige hexagonale de 1/4 po à dégagement rapide, ce qui signifie qu’ils acceptent seulement les forets conçus à cet effet pour faciliter le changement de forets grâce à la fonctionnalité « tirer et remplacer » de cet outil.

Ampères-heures (Ah)

Une batterie dont les ampères-heures sont plus élevés permet un temps d’utilisation plus long entre chaque charge.

Moteur sans balais

Dans un moteur à balais classique, les balais au carbone créent de la friction et de la chaleur; avec le temps, ils s’usent et doivent être remplacés ou réparés. Un moteur sans balais est contrôlé par ordinateur; il offre une puissance et une performance améliorées, ainsi qu’une durée de vie prolongée et plus d’autonomie dans une conception compacte et légère.

Ensemble d’outils

Un ensemble d’outils comprend plusieurs outils utilisant tous la même batterie et le même chargeur. Il s’agit d’une excellente façon de commencer qui s’avère moins chère que l’achat d’outils individuels.

Utilisation

Types

Batterie

Jargon