main menu
How to choose snowshoes. Play video

How to choose snowshoes

Hitting the trails or backcountry in snowshoes is a great winter activity, provided you choose the right snowshoes.

Weight

How much do you weigh?

Snowshoes sizes are not based on the size of your foot, but rather how much you weigh. The heavier you are, the deeper you’ll sink in the snow, so you’ll need longer snowshoes to give you better “flotation,” as it’s called. Shorter snowshoes provide sufficient float for lighter people and children. 

Check the tag

Check the tag on the snowshoes. It will tell you the maximum and minimum weights for the size. If you’re planning to carry a backpack full of gear with you, remember to factor that weight into the equation. 

Traction

Crampons

There are teeth on the bottom of snowshoes called crampons that provide traction. You need different levels of traction based on the terrain you’re crossing. 

If you plan to snowshoe mostly on packed snow that may include icy areas, or you want to have good control when ascending or descending hills, you’ll want shoes with larger crampons to give you good grip. For snowshoeing in powdery, fresh snow or on gentle, flat trails, you will be fine with smaller crampons. However, since extra traction won’t ever have a negative effect on your experiences, you’re always better to choose too much traction rather than too little. 

Gender

Consider gender-specific snowshoes

While some snowshoes are designed to be unisex, gender-specific snowshoes do have a subtle design difference that may make your experience more comfortable. The difference is in the tail on the back of the shoe. Since women tend to take narrower steps than men, the tail on women’s snowshoes is narrower to compensate. 

Weight

Traction

Gender

menu principal
Comment choisir des raquettes. Lire la vidéo

Comment choisir des raquettes

Parcourir les sentiers ou la grande nature en raquettes est une excellente activité hivernale, à condition de choisir les bonnes raquettes.

Poids

Quel est votre poids?

La taille des raquettes n'est pas définie en fonction de votre pointure, mais plutôt de votre poids. Plus vous êtes lourd, plus vous vous enfoncerez dans la neige, et vous aurez besoin de raquettes plus longues pour vous assurer une meilleure flottaison. Des raquettes plus courtes assurent une flottaison suffisante pour les personnes plus légères et les enfants. 

Vérifiez l'étiquette

Vérifiez l'étiquette des raquettes. Elle vous indiquera les poids minimal et maximal pour la taille. Si vous pensez porter un sac à dos rempli d'équipement, n'oubliez pas d'ajouter ce facteur à l'équation. 

Adhérence

Crampons

Le dessous des raquettes est muni de dents, appelés crampons, qui assurent l'adhérence. Vous aurez besoin de différents niveaux d'adhérence selon le type de surface. 

Si vous planifiez de faire de la raquette principalement sur de la neige compactée qui comprend de la glace ou si vous désirez avoir un bon contrôle lors de l'ascension ou de la descente, vous opterez pour des raquettes à crampons plus larges pour assurer une bonne prise. Pour faire de la raquette dans la neige poudreuse ou fraîche ou sur des sentiers plats, de petits crampons suffiront. Cependant, vous feriez mieux de choisir plus d'adhérence que pas assez, celle-ci n'ayant jamais un impact négatif sur votre expérience. 

Genre

Pensez à des raquettes adaptées au genre

Même si certaines raquettes sont conçues pour être unisexes, des raquettes adaptées au genre offrent une différence subtile dans le concept qui facilitera votre expérience. La différence réside dans la traîne à l'arrière de la raquette. Comme les femmes ont tendance à faire de moins larges enjambées que les hommes, la traîne des raquettes pour femmes est plus étroite pour compenser. 

Poids

Adhérence

Genre