How to

choose a treadmill

Whether you’re starting a fitness program for rehabilitation, to improve your health or to compete in local races, a treadmill is a great piece of cardio exercise equipment. Convenient in any weather or time of day, a treadmill is one product you can count on to get results. Whether you've already decided to purchase a treadmill or you're just researching your options, follow this guide to learn more about what a treadmill can offer.

How to

choose a treadmill

Whether you’re starting a fitness program for rehabilitation, to improve your health or to compete in local races, a treadmill is a great piece of cardio exercise equipment. Convenient in any weather or time of day, a treadmill is one product you can count on to get results. Whether you've already decided to purchase a treadmill or you're just researching your options, follow this guide to learn more about what a treadmill can offer.

Consider the following:

Space

It's important to know where you want to put the treadmill and measure the space before you go shopping. Depending on the size of your space, treadmills with folding frames will be a more flexible option if you need to store them in tight spaces. Leave enough room to get on and off safely and make sure you have a high enough ceiling clearance to accommodate your height plus the height of the treadmill.

Goal

What is your motivation to purchase a treadmill? It can be a simple walking program, losing weight or training for a race. It's ideal to determine what kind of goal you want to achieve to help you decide the kind of features you want in a treadmill.

Users

If you will be using the treadmill regularly, or if there will be multiple users, then consider a treadmill with a high-quality and reliable motor, and a more comprehensive warranty or In-Home Repair.

Programs

Many treadmills come with a variety of programs and the capacity to choose manual settings. Based on your goal and motivation for purchasing a treadmill, you should choose a treadmill that can offer challenging programs that will help you meet your goals.

Motor

The key difference between many treadmills is the quality of the motor. Motors are rated in Horsepower. A higher number gives you more power.

The most universally recognized rating system is the Continuous Horsepower (CHP). This is the horsepower that can be produced continuously without exceeding the maximum. It ensures that your treadmill isn't overworked at high speeds or underpowered at low speeds, giving you consistent power for every workout. The majority of users will benefit from a 2.0 – 2.5 CHP motor. Larger motors are often louder, and low-RPM (revolutions of the motor axle per minute) motors are the most quiet. If you plan to use the treadmill around other people or watch TV, a quiet motor will be important.

Budget

Is this a short term or long term investment? As treadmills increase in price, the quality of the core components improves – the frame stability, deck, motor, and cushioning. If you plan to use the treadmill regularly, it is worth investing in a longer-lasting, sturdy machine.

Let's look at the different types

Manual vs. Motorized

A motorized treadmill is easy to use – just step on and walk, jog or run your way to your fitness goal. It uses a motor to run the belt and you can choose the speed and inclination to match your workout routine. On the other hand, manual treadmills require you to work against the deck in order to move the belt. You will have to work a little harder to get to the speed you want.

*Canadian Tire does not carry manual treadmills as they are usually not powerful enough for most users.

Folding vs. Non-folding

Treadmills can take up a lot of floor space when they are in use, but most can be at least partly stowed away by folding up the deck. Some models also have hydraulic shocks to make folding and unfolding the treadmill easier.

Features to consider:

Heart Rate Monitor

Many treadmills have a built-in wireless receiver that will connect to a chest strap or watch.

Reading Rack

A convenient place for you to put your tablet or book on the treadmill to make your workout a more enjoyable experience.

Speakers

Built-in speakers will play your music from your iPod, iPhone, or other music player if applicable.

Water Bottle Holder

A designated place for you to place your water bottle for easy reach.

Fan

A built-in fan in the treadmill that keeps you cool during your workout.

Lingo

Drive Motor

The source of power that moves the belt forward during a workout.

RPM

The revolutions of the motor axle per minute is one of the ways to measure the motor performance. Lower RPM motors are quieter and more durable.

CHP

Continuous Horsepower (CHP) is the horsepower that can be produced continuously without exceeding the maximum, giving you consistent power for every workout.

Incline Motor

The incline motor is the main mechanism that raises and lowers the deck when you select your inclination levels.

Incline

Treadmill incline raises the running surface to simulate walking or running up a hill, so you burn more calories and increase muscle tone. Most models offer a powered incline.

Rollers

Rollers work with the running belt to move you forward during your running, keeping it aligned and minimizing friction.

Cushioning

The treadmill's cushioning is located between the belt and frame. Cushioning reduces impact, and makes running on the treadmill easier on the body than running outside.

Deck/Belt

The thicker the deck, the more cushioning and comfort it offers to your legs/joints. Belt widths range from 16" to 20", while lengths vary from 45" to 60".

Speed

Most treadmills offer a speed setting from 0 to 10mph.

Electronic Controls

They range from simple odometers and speedometers to pre-programmed workouts. They can also provide useful feedback, such as speed

Weight capacity

Most treadmills have a maximum capacity weight ranging from 325 lbs to 400 lbs.

Warranty

Most treadmills feature a frame-motor-parts-labour manufacturer's warranty. Read the provided documents carefully to know what the warranty covers.

Consider the following:

Let's look at the different types

Features to consider:

Lingo

choose a treadmill

Comment

choisir un tapis roulant

Que vous commenciez un entraînement pour une réadaptation, pour améliorer votre santé ou pour participer à un marathon, le tapis roulant est un excellent exercice cardiovasculaire. Pratique, peu importe la météo et le moment de la journée, vous pouvez compter sur lui pour obtenir des résultats. Que votre décision d’achat soit prise ou que vous magasiniez les options, suivez ce guide pour apprendre les possibilités qu’offre le tapis roulant.

Comment

choisir un tapis roulant

Que vous commenciez un entraînement pour une réadaptation, pour améliorer votre santé ou pour participer à un marathon, le tapis roulant est un excellent exercice cardiovasculaire. Pratique, peu importe la météo et le moment de la journée, vous pouvez compter sur lui pour obtenir des résultats. Que votre décision d’achat soit prise ou que vous magasiniez les options, suivez ce guide pour apprendre les possibilités qu’offre le tapis roulant.

Tenez compte des facteurs suivants :

Espace

Il est important de choisir l’emplacement du tapis roulant et de mesurer l’espace avant de passer à l’achat. Un tapis roulant avec un cadre pliant est une solution plus adéquate si vous devez le ranger dans un espace restreint. Assurez-vous d’avoir assez de place pour monter et descendre et d’avoir une hauteur de plafond suffisante qui convient à votre taille et à la hauteur du tapis.

Objectif

Qu’est-ce qui vous motive à acheter un tapis roulant? Un programme de marche, la perte de poids ou l’entraînement pour un marathon? Vous devez d’abord fixer votre objectif afin de vous aider à choisir les caractéristiques que vous souhaitez avoir sur votre tapis.

Utilisateurs

Comptez-vous utiliser le tapis régulièrement? Servira-t-il à plusieurs personnes? Si oui, choisissez un modèle ayant un moteur plus fiable et de qualité supérieure, une garantie plus complète ou un service de réparation à domicile.

Programmes

Plusieurs tapis roulants sont offerts avec une variété de programmes et des paramètres manuels. Selon votre objectif et motivation d’achat, vous devriez choisir un modèle qui offre divers niveaux d’intensité qui vous aideront à atteindre vos objectifs.

Moteur

La différence clé entre les modèles est la qualité du moteur. La puissance est exprimée en HP. Plus le nombre est élevé, plus le moteur est puissant.

Le système d’évaluation le plus reconnu est la puissance continue (CHP). Il s’agit de la puissance pouvant être produite continuellement sans excéder le maximum. Cela évite que le moteur soit surchargé à haute vitesse ou peu puissant à basse vitesse, offrant ainsi une puissance continue en tout temps. La majorité des utilisateurs tireront parti d’un moteur de 2,0 à 2,5 CHP. Les gros moteurs sont souvent plus bruyants et ceux à faible régime (révolution du moteur par minute) sont les plus silencieux. Si vous prévoyez utiliser le tapis près d’autres personnes ou en regardant la télévision, choisissez un moteur silencieux.

Budget

Est-ce un investissement à court ou à long terme? Plus le tapis roulant est cher, plus la qualité des composantes principales (stabilité du cadre, plate-forme, moteur, amortisseurs) est meilleure. Si vous prévoyez utiliser le tapis régulièrement, il vaut mieux investir dans une machine plus robuste et durable.

Jetons un coup d’œil aux différents types :

Manuel ou motorisé

Manuel ou motorisé. Un tapis motorisé est plus facile à utiliser : montez dessus, puis marchez ou courez pour atteindre votre objectif. Le tapis fonctionne avec un moteur et vous pouvez choisir la vitesse et l’inclinaison pendant votre routine. En revanche pour les tapis manuels, vous devez bouger sur la plate-forme pour faire rouler le tapis. Vous devez travailler un peu plus fort afin d’atteindre la vitesse souhaitée.

*Canadian Tire n’offre pas de tapis manuels puisqu’ils ne sont habituellement pas assez puissants pour les utilisateurs.

Pliant ou non pliant

Les tapis peuvent être assez encombrants, mais certains d’entre eux peuvent être rangés en pliant le cadre. Certains modèles possèdent des amortisseurs hydrauliques pour faciliter le rangement.

Caractéristiques à prendre en considération.

Moniteur de fréquence cardiaque

De nombreux tapis comportent un récepteur sans fil se connectant à une sangle pectorale ou une montre.

Porte-livre

Endroit pratique pour placer votre tablette ou votre livre sur le tapis roulant afin de rendre votre entraînement plus agréable.

Haut-parleurs

Haut-parleurs intégrés pour écouter votre musique directement de votre iPod, iPhone ou autre lecteur.

Porte-bouteille d’eau

Il vous permet de placer votre bouteille d’eau et de l’atteindre facilement.

Ventilateur

Ventilateur intégré sur le tapis pour rester au frais pendant votre entraînement.

Pour bien comprendre.

Moteur d’entraînement

La source de puissance qui fait rouler le tapis pendant l’entraînement.

TR/MIN

La révolution du moteur par minute sert à mesurer la performance du moteur. Les moteurs à faible régime (TR/MIN) sont plus silencieux et durables.

CHP

Puissance continue (CHP) : Il s’agit de la puissance pouvant être produite continuellement sans excéder le maximum. Cela évite que le moteur soit surchargé à haute vitesse ou peu puissant à basse vitesse, offrant ainsi une puissance continue en tout temps.

Moteur d’inclinaison

Mécanisme principal qui sert à lever ou à baisser la plate-forme selon le niveau d’inclinaison sélectionné.

Inclinaison

Augmente l’inclinaison pour simuler une pente afin de brûler plus de calories et d’améliorer le tonus musculaire. La plupart des modèles ont une inclinaison motorisée.

Rouleaux

Les rouleaux fonctionnent avec le tapis de course pour vous faire avancer, assurez-vous qu’ils sont centrés et de minimiser la friction.

Amortisseurs

Les amortisseurs sont situés entre le tapis et le cadre. Les amortisseurs réduisent l’impact sur le corps et rendent la course plus facile qu’à l’extérieur.

Plate-forme / Tapis

Plus la plate-forme est épaisse, plus elle sera coussinée et confortable pour vos jambes et jointures. La largeur du tapis peut varier de 16 à 20 po, et la longueur, de 45 à 60 po.

Vitesse

La plupart des tapis offrent un contrôle de la vitesse de 0 à 16 km/h.

Commandes électroniques

Du simple odomètre et indicateur de vitesse aux entraînements préprogrammés. Elles affichent la vitesse, distance, fréquence cardiaque, rythme, calories et plus encore.

Poids maximal

La plupart des tapis roulants offrent une capacité allant de 325 lb à 400 lb.

Garantie

La plupart des tapis offrent une garantie du fabricant sur le cadre, moteur, pièces et main-d’œuvre. Lisez attentivement les documents fournis pour savoir ce que couvre la garantie.

Tenez compte des facteurs suivants :

Jetons un coup d’œil aux différents types :

Caractéristiques à prendre en considération.

Pour bien comprendre.

choisir un tapis roulant