main menu

How to choose a leaf blower

Clearing a yard full of leaves can be time consuming, which makes a leaf blower a handy tool. They are extremely useful all year round for spring clean-up, gathering grass clippings in the summer, when the leaves fall in autumn, and even clearing snow off the car and walkway in the winter. Here’s a quick guide on picking the perfect one for your needs.

Use

Consider the size of your property and your trees.

What size is your property? How big are your trees?

Before you start looking at all the options that are available, you should consider the size of your property and your trees. 

For larger properties that accumulate a significant amount of leaves and debris, you would need to look at our most powerful options to complete the job. Some smaller properties with mature trees that have thicker leaves may also need a powerful blower. However, smaller yards that can be reached with an extension cord or that have smaller trees can us a lower voltage electric or cordless blower. Keeping your property in mind will help you when making your final choice for your new blower. 

Types

Discover our versatile gas leaf blowers.

Gas Leaf Blowers

Gas leaf blowers are the most versatile and powerful option for blowing and vacuuming leaves and debris. They are ideal for larger jobs, with no ties to an electrical cord. They are usually heavier than cordless blowers, but can be easier to handle because your back and shoulders will support the weight of the machine.
See Gas Leaf Blowers
Choose one of our convenient electric leaf blowers

Electric Leaf Blowers

Electric leaf blowers are usually handheld and offer the convenience of push-button starting. They operate without any exhaust emissions and don't require the maintenance of fuel-mixing, which is required in gas leaf blowers. These models require an extension cord and access to an outlet to operate. 
See Electric Leaf Blowers
Explore our assortment of cordless leaf blowers

Cordless Leaf Blowers

These lightweight leaf blowers offer the mobility of gas models, but they are much quieter. The maximum power of cordless leaf blowers is, in some cases, less than that of gas or electric. Some models also offer interchangeable batteries.

Features:
• Push-Button Start: No pull-cords - Just push the button to get started. 
• No Gas & Oil Mixtures: Don't worry about complicated (and messy) fuel and oil mixtures - Simply charge and it's ready to use. 
• 70% Less Vibration: Avoid the heavy vibrations that come from gas-powered equipment. Substantially low vibration makes completing your task easier and less strenuous. 
• 50% Less Noise: Perform your yard work without the loud noise that comes from a gas-powered engine. Your neighbours (and ears) will thank you. 
• Interchangeable Batteries: The interchangeable Lithium Ion battery works with all other same brand products. 
• Virtually No Maintenance: Unlike gas-powered yard equipment, which requires regular maintenance and tune-ups, Greenworks Brushless simply needs to be charged. 

See Cordless Leaf Blowers
Discover leaf blowers with aero force technology

Aero Force Technology™ Leaf Blowers

Models that use the innovative new Aero Force Technology™ are exclusive to Canadian Tire and offer the best of all worlds — a blower with high capacity of air flow to move leaves and a vacuum. The unique design significantly augments air flow out of the tube enabling users to clean their yards faster. The vacuum mode allows users to vacuum and mulch leaves into a bag for easy disposal.
See Aero Force Technology Leaf Blowers

Lingo

Brushless motors are more efficient and generate less heat

Brushless

Brushless is a motor technology that is available on select cordless models. Since brushless motors don’t have wearable brushes, these motors result in less friction, which equals less heat and higher efficiency. In some models it can offer performance on par with gas-powered machines. 

Vacuum & Mulching

In addition to blowing, many models let you vacuum and mulch. When looking at these models, check the bagging capacity to see how frequently you will need to change bags. 
Check the mulch reduction ratio

Mulch Ratio

Mulching will reduce debris volume as it is vacuumed. The mulch reduction ratio will give you a good idea of how many fewer bags you'll need to dispose of your leaf litter. 

Variable Speed Motor

This will give you flexibility and control while blowing or vacuuming. Use the low setting for better control on hard surfaces, tight corners and landscaped areas to avoid blowing away garden mulch. 
A variable speed motor give you flexibility and control

Air Speed

Air speed is measured in MPH (miles per hour), and determines how fast the air is moving out of your blower, ranging from 100 to 250 MPH. 

Air Volume

Air volume is measured in CFM (cubic feet per minute). It determines the amount of air pushed out by the blower, and may be measured with or without the blowing tube. The higher the CFM, the more powerful the machine and the greater the ability to move leaves.  
The lower the number, the quieter the blower

Decibels

Measures noise level. The lower the number, the quieter the blower. 

Safety

Wear protective clothing even on hot days

Protective Clothing

Whenever you are using a leaf blower, it’s important to wear protective clothing. Even on hot summer days, it’s advised that you wear long pants, boots, earplugs and a good pair of safety glasses or goggles. 
Bystanders should be at least 50 feet away from you

Work Alone

Bystanders should be at least 50 feet away from you if you are operating your leaf blower.  
Don't operate your leaf blower it it's raining

Steer Clear of Rain

If it is raining outside, or the ground is wet, don’t operate your leaf blower. Not only is it heavier to blow away wet leaves and dirt, causing more work for you, but wet ground increases your chance of slipping and falling. 

Use

Types

Lingo

Safety

menu principal

Comment choisir une souffleuse à feuilles

Ramasser des feuilles peut être une tâche très pénible. C’est pourquoi une souffleuse à feuilles est un outil incontournable. Elle est très utile pour le ménage du printemps, pour ramasser l’herbe coupée l’été ou les feuilles à l’automne, et même pour déneiger la voiture et le trottoir en hiver. Voici un guide pour vous aider à choisir celle qui conviendra à vos besoins.

Utilisation

Quelle est la taille de votre propriété? Quelle est la taille de vos arbres?

Avant d’évaluer toutes vos options, réfléchissez à la taille de votre propriété et de vos arbres.

Un modèle puissant conviendra à une grande propriété qui accumule une importante quantité de feuilles et de débris. Il conviendra également à une plus petite propriété dont les arbres matures ont un feuillage plus dense. Par contre, une souffleuse électrique à faible voltage ou sans fil sera la meilleure option pour les plus petites cours auxquelles on peut accéder avec une rallonge électrique ou dont les arbres sont plus petits. Tenir compte de votre propriété vous aidera au moment de choisir votre nouvelle souffleuse.


Types

Souffleuses à feuilles à essence

Les souffleuses à feuilles à essence sont les modèles les plus polyvalents et les plus puissants pour rassembler et aspirer les feuilles et les débris. Non encombrées par une rallonge, elles sont idéales pour les grandes propriétés. Elles sont plus lourdes que les modèles à main, mais plus faciles à manœuvrer, car le dos et les épaules supportent le poids.

Souffleuses à feuilles électriques

La souffleuse à feuilles électrique, qu’on tient souvent dans la main, offre la commodité d’un démarrage à l’aide d’un bouton. Elle n’a pas de système d’échappement, ni ne nécessite d’entretien ou de mélange d’essence comme avec les modèles à essence. Elle doit être branchée dans une prise électrique à l’aide d’une rallonge pour fonctionner.

Souffleuse à feuilles sans fil

Cette souffleuse à feuilles légère offre la mobilité des modèles à essence, mais elle est beaucoup plus silencieuse. Sa puissance de crête est inférieure à celle du modèle à essence ou électrique. Cette souffleuse est aussi équipée d’une batterie interchangeable.

Caractéristiques :

Démarrage par bouton-poussoir: aucune chaîne à tirer, poussez le bouton pour démarrer.

Aucun mélange essence et huile: adieu les mélanges compliqués et salissants de carburant et d’huile. Il suffit de charger l’appareil et c’est fait!

• 70 % moins de vibrations: finies les vibrations déplaisantes de l’équipement à essence. Grâce à une baisse importante des vibrations, votre travail sera allégé et agréable.

• 50 % moins de bruit: enfin, on peut travailler au jardin sans subir le bruit assourdissant d’un moteur à essence. Comme vos voisins, vos oreilles vous remercieront!

• Batteries interchangeables: la batterie au lithium-ion interchangeable fonctionne avec tous les articles de même marque.

• Pratiquement aucun entretien: contrairement à l’équipement à essence qui exige un entretien régulier, les outils GreenWorks nécessitent un simple chargement.


Souffleuses à feuilles à technologie Aero Force

Les modèles utilisant la nouvelle technologie Aero Force innovatrice, une exclusivité de Canadian Tire, offrent le meilleur des deux mondes : une souffleuse à haute capacité de circulation d’air pour déplacer les feuilles et un aspirateur. Le concept unique augmente considérablement la circulation d’air à l'extérieur du tube, permettant à l'utilisateur de nettoyer le jardin plus rapidement. Le mode aspirateur permet à l'utilisateur d'aspirer les feuilles et de les réduire en paillis dans un sac, facilitant l'évacuation.

Jargon

Sans balai

La technologie de moteur sans balai est offerte pour certaines souffleuses sans fil. Sans balai, ces moteurs causent moins de frottements; par conséquent, ils chauffent moins et assurent une meilleure efficacité. Certains modèles offrent un rendement semblable à celui des souffleuses à essence.

Aspiration et déchiquetage

En plus de souffler, bon nombre de modèles peuvent aussi aspirer et déchiqueter. Si vous pensez acheter un de ces modèles, vérifiez la taille du sac afin de savoir combien de fois vous devrez le vider.

Rapport de déchiquetage

Le déchiquetage réduit le volume des débris lorsqu’ils sont aspirés. Le rapport de déchiquetage vous donne une idée du nombre de sacs qu’il vous faudra pour vous débarrasser de vos feuilles.

Moteur à vitesse variable

Ce moteur permet de mieux contrôler la souffleuse. Utilisez la vitesse basse pour les surfaces dures, dans les recoins ou dans les espaces paysagers pour éviter de déplacer le paillis.

Vitesse de l’air

La vitesse de l’air est mesurée en mi/h (milles à l’heure) et mesure la vitesse à laquelle l’air sort de la souffleuse; elle varie de 100 à 250 milles à l’heure.

Débit du volume d’air

Le débit de l’air est mesuré en pi³/min (pieds cubes par minute). Il mesure le débit d’air expulsé par la souffleuse et peut être mesuré avec ou sans le tube. Plus le chiffre est élevé, plus la souffleuse à feuilles est puissante et peut souffler les feuilles.

Décibel

Mesure le niveau de bruit. Plus le chiffre est petit, plus la souffleuse est silencieuse.

Sécurité

Portez des vêtements de protection

Il est important de porter des vêtements de protection lorsque vous utilisez une souffleuse à feuilles. Même lors des chaudes journées d’été, il est recommandé de porter des pantalons longs, des bottes, des bouchons d’oreilles et une bonne paire de lunettes de protection.

Travaillez seul

Les passants devraient se tenir à au moins 15 mètres de vous lorsque vous manipulez une souffleuse à feuilles.

Évitez la pluie

N’utilisez pas votre souffleuse à feuilles s’il pleut ou si le sol est mouillé. Non seulement les feuilles et les débris mouillés sont plus lourds à souffler, ce qui est plus exigeant pour vous, mais un sol humide augmente aussi les risques de glisser et de tomber.

Utilisation

Types

Jargon

Sécurité